Yes, My Darling Daughter

Parenting advice has certainly changed over the years.  I have been having a great time discovering and rediscovering some old songs with the swing band I sometimes rehearse with; songs with titles that would never fly these days.  “Back Door Stuff”, “At The Fat Man’s”, “Beat Me, Daddy, Eight To The Bar”, “Is You Is Or Is You Ain’t My Baby”,  “Tail End Charlie”,  “Alibi Baby”, “How Come You Do Me Like You Do”, “Queer Street”, “Dodgin’ a Divorcee”, “Flinging A Whing-Ding”, “One Night Stand”.  Vintage music doesn’t have a monopoly on odd names, but sometimes it just illustrates what a different world it was back then.

We rehearsed one a couple of weeks ago that spoke directly to me, with my three daughters.  Be sure to click on the title of the following song and get the YouTube link to listen along.  In spite of the questionable advice that we don’t dare give to our girls, it’s a fun tune:

Yes, My Darling Daughter – Glenn Miller Orchestra  (1941)

Mother, may I go out dancing?
Yes, my darling daughter
Mother, may I try romancing?
Yes, my darling daughter
What if there’s a moon, mama darling, and it’s shining on the water
Mother, must I keep on dancing?
Yes, my darling daughter
What if he’ll propose, mama darling, when the night is growing shorter?
Mother, what should be my answer?
Yes, my darling daughter

Mother, will it be exciting?
Mother, do I look inviting?
What if he holds me tight & my knees just turn to water
Mama, what should I do?
What if there’s a moon, my mama darling, and it’s shining on the water
Mother, must I keep on dancing?
Yes, my darling daughter
What if he’ll propose, my mama darling, when the night is growing shorter?
Mother, what’cha think should be my answer?
Yes, my darling daughter

Oh mama darling, what if he holds my hand & then says, “Come just a little closer?”
Mother dear, what should be my answer?
Oh yes, my darling daughter

I love my girls, but the last thing I would advise them to say is “Yes, yes, yes!”  Welcome back to the year 2011.

Leave a comment

Filed under Changes, Looking Back, Parenting

Leave a Reply

