Day Off

I took a day off from writing yesterday and I was watching the heavens and waiting for the lightning to strike all day.  For the past five or six months I have been requiring myself to write and post daily, but yesterday I didn’t make it.  I know myself.  If I break a streak, I have been known to give up on it, so I was being very careful to post.  Some days it was a stretch to find something to write about, but that was part of the effort required: to examine what was going on around me and discover something to focus on.

So now that the streak is broken, what to do?  Well, I was having a hard time coming up with a post today, too.  I had already broken my promise to myself.  What would one day more matter?  No one would care anyway – no one but me, that is.  With that realization, I stilled myself enough to notice that the thing at the heart of today was that I had not written and posted yesterday.  What better thing for me to analyze, then?

Why didn’t I post? I could have found some time and energy to do so, even though I played trumpet at three Easter services and had a long, leisurely, luxurious brunch out with family after.  I could have found something to write about from my pile of half-formulated posts in my pending file.  I thought about doing so a number of times, as I went through my day, with various degrees of concern.  Earlier in the day, I felt anxious about not having already written something to have ready.  After all, I knew last week that the day would be busy.  Later on, though, when there actually was time to sit down and think, I felt very peaceful about it.  I was happy, and content, and fulfilled.  Anything I would have written would have been forced.  I gave myself permission to skip a day, even though it meant breaking a streak.

So here I am, back on the horse again.  No less happy, but still enjoying writing, and sharing, and most of all, the act of examining my world.

1 Comment

Filed under Accomplishments, Changes, Day to Day, Finding Inspiration, postaday2011, Self-realization, Success/Failure, Writing

One response to “Day Off

  1. welcome back on horse again 🙂

Leave a Reply

