Easter Morning

The one thing that has been certain to keep me playing at least once a year has been a standing job for our brass quintet in a beautiful church for Easter. We have been playing there for almost twenty years, though there have been some years I missed for various reasons such as having a newborn. Of course, that means that Easter morning for my children has never been storybook. The Easter Bunny leaves his loot, but I hardly ever get to have a traditional morning with them. That has been left to their grandparents, mostly, since when the girls were little my in-laws would arrive the night before and be there when my daughters woke up, long after we had left for the sunrise service.

Am I cheating the kids, and myself, out of the tradition of Easter morning discoveries and egg hunts and family coming over? Sometimes I have felt that way but, looking at it dispassionately, some years this gig was the only thing that kept me playing. Life was so overwhelming through the baby and toddler era that only the thought of the extra money to do something with encouraged me to get my horn out and find enough endurance for three services.  This year, I am coming at it from a different place since I am in the best musical shape I have been in a long time.  This is not the only job I will be playing, but it will be a benchmark that will help me measure how far I have come.

My family does have an Easter morning tradition, it just doesn’t always include me.   As long as I can play I’m okay with that.

1 Comment

Filed under Parenting, Reflection, Traditions

One response to “Easter Morning

Leave a Reply

