Kid In A Candy Store

I walked into the music store for an eight dollar item and walked out with a bill that was twenty times that.  How does that happen?

I can rationalize everything that I got.  Books to use for my lessons.  Equipment I have been looking at and thinking about for quite a while.  Stuff that I hope will improve my playing.  It wasn’t exactly budgeted for today, yet that didn’t stop me.  My “why wait?” attitude may have saved me further research and the time it would take for the items to be shipped to me, but I always feel a little shell-shocked after similar forays.

This phenomenon happens all too often, and not always at music stores (though lately that’s a good bet).  Manufacturers are pros at getting your attention for things you didn’t intend to buy.  The same thing happens at the grocery store, the department stores, the book store.  I browse and find all number of things that interest me and attract me.  Sometimes I do that when I shop online, clicking through all the products available, but it’s easy to be sensible and take things off the final order if it’s more than I wanted to spend that day.  I end up with register shock far more often when I can see and touch the actual items.  It always seems that since it is in my hand, it should stay there.

If we ever move completely away from brick-and-mortar shopping, I may just spend less.  In the meantime, I have a few new toys to play with.

1 Comment

Filed under Day to Day, Growth, Self-realization

One response to “Kid In A Candy Store

  1. I walked into the music store for an eight dollar item and walked out with a bill that was twenty times that. ..
    +
    you are not alone with that! I bought too many different guitars 🙂

Leave a Reply

