Bon Voyage

…..

My brain is going, and I hope it has a very nice trip.  I told myself I didn’t have rehearsal last night, and I totally believed myself.  There was just one problem with that…….  I was wrong.

It wasn’t my swiss-cheese memory this time.  I remembered it was Wednesday, and I knew I usually had rehearsal, but there is one Wednesday a month that the group doesn’t meet and I had it in my head that this was the one.  Ummm, nope.  That would be next week, of course, so I miss two weeks of playing in one of my very favorite groups.  Punishment enough, I suppose, though my trumpet section buddies probably won’t let me forget it for a while.

Along with a busy and varied schedule comes the opportunity to miss things in proportionate frequency.  Most of the time I am on task.  When I am not, I need to learn to roll with the punches, certainly taking responsibility for missed events or deadlines, but not beating myself up for them.  Lessons learned and all that.

It didn’t help that my section-mates were waving from the dock as my brain pulled away.  At least I could provide some amusement from afar as they sent messages to me and even posted a picture of some of the music I was missing out on.

Gee, thanks, guys.  I miss you too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Day to Day, Self-realization, Success/Failure

Leave a Reply

