Blank Slate

It is always days when I have too much on my mind that I have nothing to write.  The distilling process in my brain hasn’t had enough time, and decisions need to be made or changed.  I go to write down one thing, and the scene changes.  I adjust, and it changes again.  The act of thinking too many things stops me in my tracks sometimes.

There are days when I would just like to wipe the board clean and wait silently for whatever new will show up.  This seems to be one of them.

Anyone Can Whistle – music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim.

Anyone can whistle,
That’s what they say-
Easy.
Anyone can whistle
Any old day-
Easy.
It’s all so simple:
Relax, let go, let fly.
So someone tell me why
Can’t I?
I can dance a tango,
I can read Greek-
Easy.
I can slay a dragon
Any old week-
Easy.
What’s hard is simple.
What’s natural comes hard.
Maybe you could show me
How to let go,
Lower my guard,
Learn to be free.
Maybe if you whistle,
Whistle for me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Finding Inspiration, Self Discovery, Writing

Leave a Reply

