Too Old To Sleep In

That’s it, I give up.  No matter how nice it sounds to think about sleeping past my regular wake up time, it’s just not the decadent indulgence it used to be. I am (gasp!) not a teenager anymore.

The last two days I have not had anything to make me get up at a specific time.  What better opportunity to do something I haven’t done for a while, right?  Saturday morning was a few hours later than usual, so not too much over.  Still, it seemed at least an hour before my brain woke up with the rest of me, and my morning coffee didn’t make much of a dent in the wake-up process.  Eventually, I got up to speed and went on with my day.

This morning I slept way late, rolling over after the alarm and deciding that it was Sunday morning and I wasn’t going anywhere until after lunch.  No one needs me to get up to make breakfast for them and supervise anymore, so I thought, “What the heck… why not?” and off I went, back to dreamland.

Bad idea.  Headache, cotton-wool for brains, the loss of half my day.

I know this thought has occurred to me before.  So why am I always in denial when I’m half asleep and faced with the tantalizing temptation of a lie-in?

1 Comment

Filed under Changes, Day to Day, Self-realization

One response to “Too Old To Sleep In

  1. I know the feeling! My two were at their mother’s for Mother’s Day, I had the house to myself, no need to get up early, so I stayed in bed a little longer than normal and then spent the rest of the morning trying to get myself motivated! Whereas if I’d got up as normal, I’d have been firing on all four cylinders(ish!)

Leave a Reply

