If Only…..

… I was a cat.  I could choose when and where I wanted to nap, perhaps creating a freeform routine where I moved from napping spot to napping spot according to a schedule only I could discern.  I could snuggle when I wanted to, and not when I didn’t.  It would be allowable, if not even expected, that I turn up my nose at any request.  I could torment the other inhabitants of the house just for fun.   I could sit in a box for no apparent reason.  Sure, I’d have to eat dry, crunchy kibble exclusively, but then I wouldn’t be tempted to overeat or indulge in something I shouldn’t have.  A small saucer of milk in the morning would give me something to look forward to, and all my needs would be met.

… I was a teenager.  I could choose when and where I wanted to go out, perhaps creating a freeform routine where I moved from place to place according to a schedule only I could discern.  I could snuggle when I wanted to, and not when I didn’t.  It would be allowable, if not even expected, that I turn up my nose at any request.  I could torment the other inhabitants of the house just for fun.   I could sit in my room for no apparent reason.  I’d have most of my meals made for me, or at least stocked in the cupboards and refrigerator for nights I am on my own.  A carton of ice cream in the freezer would give me something to look forward to, and all my needs would be met.

……

Hmmmm.  For a (very short) minute I wasn’t sure which one I would rather be.

1 Comment

Filed under Day to Day, Family Relationships, Reflection

One response to “If Only…..

Leave a Reply

