Aiming To Please

“I don’t know the key to success, but the key to failure is
trying to please everybody.”
– Bill Cosby

Bill Cosby, philosopher.  The guy made me laugh all through my growing up years and beyond, and he included quite a few homilies and big truths in his material.  Sometimes that’s exactly what was funny about what he went on about.  Many of his gags hit very close to home, just like the statement above.

I do this.  I do it all the time.  I try to make everybody happy, even when they are on opposing sides of an issue.  That’s not at all logical and is completely impractical, but I continue to do it anyway.  There is a good little girl in me that just wants to please everybody, even when my grown up brain tells me it’s not feasible or even desirable.

Bill may have missed out on a component too, much as I love the guy.  There should be more to the saying, something that includes not forgetting to please yourself. I’m very often guilty of that as well.  I chug along, always looking outward, making sure everybody else gets what they need, and I forget to check my own level of satisfaction. So not only am I trying to please everybody, which is a sure recipe for failure, I’m forgetting to even put myself on the list of those to please.

It could be time to make a new list, include myself, and remember to take turns with who I please.  That may not translate into success, but just might keep failure at bay.

1 Comment

Filed under Changes, Parenting, Reflection, Self-realization, Success/Failure

One response to “Aiming To Please

  1. I know the key to success,
    it’s trying to please everybody …
    +
    and if you do not like everybody wants you to do?
    what punishment?
    +
    one always should ask,
    how bad the penalty will be …
    and then decide,

Leave a Reply

