Whiz Kids

It seems the older my girls get, the more they become experts.  Of course, this supercedes anything that I might have to contribute to a discussion.  It feels a bit like I am losing information, because the more they learn, the less they think the people around them know.  A little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing, because it makes the bearer feel she is an expert, when in fact, she doesn’t know enough to know how much she doesn’t know.  Yes, this is the bailiwick of teenagers.  They know all, you know nothing, you can’t possibly understand because every experience they have is new and unique.

The youngest isn’t quite in that mode yet, and so falls into the category of “another person who knows nothing”.  She is struggling to find her own way here, and it isn’t helping to have supercilious sisters always telling her what to do.  In their defense, I will say that they think they are assisting her, but the actual help they give falls short of their intentions.  It seems to be frustrating from both sides of the abyss, because I see her hurt in the same way I feel it.  I’m better equipped to deal with it, though, and mostly from the experience they pooh-pooh.  I know what they are going through – I went through this “expert” phase myself (let me insert belated apologies to my mother here).  Little sister doesn’t quite understand why the siblings she looks up to are so bossy and arrogant.

I may not be looking forward to the day when she joins their ranks, but I’m ready for it.

Sixty years ago I knew everything; now I know nothing; education is a progressive discovery of our own ignorance.  ~ Will Durant

Leave a comment

Filed under Changes, Family Relationships, Growth, Looking Ahead, Looking Back, Parenting

Leave a Reply

