Gestures Are Not Small

A man uses his snowblower on all the driveways and sidewalks on his street after the last big snowstorm.  He was out there already, it needed to be done, he had the time.  Only one neighbor said thanks afterward, probably not in an “if I thank him he will do it again” kind of way, but just because he was surprised and grateful.  The neighbor may have been facing challenges that day and was unable to get out there and do it, or maybe he was just heading out to do it himself and noticed it done.  Either way, he thanked the man and went on his way, but things like that have a way of being remembered.  The simple appreciative word sticks in the man’s mind.  When it snows again, he does his drive and the one belonging to the grateful neighbor.  Only those two.

A friend posted yesterday about the “sucktacular” day they were having.  I posted a hug back their way, just because it’s what I would have done had they been in the room with me.  It took me nine keystrokes and a hit on the enter key to accomplish it, and late last night she wrote a in a note, “…it is usually the little things, when positive, that bring me such great joy, and become my shield against the negative little things. Gratefully those appeared today as well. A virtual hug from a friend. Supportive words from my fellow admins. and friends…”.  I was completely surprised that my small and instinctive response made a difference, no matter how minor, to my friend.

A simple gesture costs nothing, and you never know how much it’s needed or how it will be received.

1 Comment

Filed under Day to Day, Friends, Gratitude

One response to “Gestures Are Not Small

  1. “…it is usually the little things, when positive, that bring me such great joy, and become my shield against the negative little things…”

Leave a Reply

