Bane Of My Existence

Grocery shopping.  Why do I hate it so?

It’s not like it’s a difficult chore.  There are far more unpleasant things I have had to do in my life as a mom (most having to do with bodily functions).  I don’t have to actually grow the produce, butcher the meat, process the grains – it should be easy to feed my family in this age of plenty and convenience.  But if I could hire someone to do something for me, it would be a toss-up between meal planner/shopper and housecleaner, and that’s saying a lot.

First, you have to have a plan.  Wandering aimlessly is never a good idea; you end up with snacks and things that catch your eye, but balanced meals never materialize.  Having a plan means you actually have to figure out what’s going on for  the week, because with our schedule, we aren’t always all home and I’m not available to cook on lesson nights.  Pleasing five people a majority of the time is also a challenge, and mixing it up so we don’t have the same kinds of things night after night – I need a production manager for that.

Assuming I have planned at least the minimal amount of meals, off to the store I go.  Up and down the aisles, stand in line at the deli, stand in line at the checkout, load the car, unload the car, carry it all to the kitchen, and put it all away in the cupboard, refrigerator, freezer, and pantry.

All that to soon hear, “Mom, there’s nothing to eat!”  Sigh.

2 Comments

Filed under Day to Day, Food, Parenting

2 responses to “Bane Of My Existence

  1. Don’t you just hate shopping! I totally see where you’re coming from with this post. Funnily enough my post today was about my grocery shop this morning!

Leave a Reply

