Stepping Out

Once you get to be an adult, trying new things can be a trial.  It should get easier with experience, but instead we get stuck in our ruts and have our own comfort zone to maintain.  So what happens when something comes up that you have always wanted to do, but it involves an element of risk?  My first response is usually “I’m too old to start that now” and then I think about putting myself out there for others to see or judge.  I tend to find excuses not to do things, even though I know my reasoning is weak.  So what does it take to throw all caution to the wind and go for it?

A couple of people I know recently participated in NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month.  They spent a whole month writing feverishly, not even eating sometimes, and finished complete drafts of novels in 30 days.  I can’t even count the times that I have said in a wistful voice, “I’d like to write a book, someday”. Yet these people put their money where their mouth was and actually did it, and one is taking the next step and entering his into a contest, where he just might get his book published.

How cool is that?

Does he face rejection? Will he be taking a risk? Is what he is doing difficult?  Absolutely.  But his courage and the faith he has in himself will make him stronger, no matter what happens to his book.  If he never gave anyone the chance to  read it, there would be no chance of getting it published.  Though the satisfaction of finishing the book must have been enormous, the rewards of actually having a book published would be tenfold that.

In my quest to discover the adult I have become, as my children grow more independent and begin their own lives, I need to decide on that thing to take a chance on.  Then, succeed or fail, I will have done more than just talk.

1 Comment

Filed under Accomplishments, Finding Inspiration, Growth, Looking Ahead, Success/Failure

One response to “Stepping Out

Leave a Reply

