The Sound Of Silence

I’ve mentioned before that I have a soundtrack to my life.  I have playlists organized by mood, artists, genre – something for just about every frame of mind and activity.  Chores go faster with loud and fast music, I can think better with quieter music on.  Sometimes I’m more in the mood for classical if I’ve been practicing a lot.  Other times, I look for lyrics that support, continue, or change the mood I am in.

Lately, though, I find myself not even turning music on.  Perhaps I can’t decide which to listen to, or maybe I don’t even think about turning something on.  I get to the end of the day and realize that I haven’t been listening to anything.

What does that soundtrack say about my life?

I can only hear the world around me.  The hum of the appliances in the kitchen.  The blower snapping on and off at the furnace.  I can hear a cat walking down the wooden stairs, though, admittedly, around here that is not as quiet as it might seem.  It’s snowy out, so I don’t hear much traffic, and the birds are silent outside my window.

Perhaps this is just a pause between movements in the concert of my life.  Don’t applaud yet, please.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

*And no, I haven’t missed the irony in feeling that I had to link to that old Simon and Garfunkel song on my Nest Tunes page today. If you go there to listen, do yourself the favor of listening to both versions of the song that I have linked…  It’s a poignant juxtaposition and eloquent depiction of what years can do – and proof that there is still power in a song.

3 Comments

Filed under Changes, Day to Day, Growth, Self Discovery

3 responses to “The Sound Of Silence

  1. some songs have changed our life …
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/02/07/hit-the-road-jack/
    yesterday I had a party at home and today I’ve uploaded for of the songs we played there…
    those songs changed our feelings, were friends so many years, worked as a metaphor …

  2. Pingback: 30 Days | One Bird At A Time

Leave a Reply

