Singing The Blues

I’ve got the “January-Tuesday-late-night-early-morning” blues.  It seems like forever since I saw the color green.  Blue skies just mean it’s brutally cold outside.  The weekend is worlds away.  I didn’t get enough sleep.  Again.

My family is crabby in waves, and so am I.  Nothing seems to be going right, everything seems just a smidge off-center.  The cat isn’t well, the girls are coming down with scratchy throats, I don’t feel like taking care of anybody, including myself.  Coffee isn’t helping, and I’m too unmotivated to fix food.  I’m listening to a playlist named “Sad”.

Perhaps that ought to be all in capitals – SAD.   It’s the right time of year for that, and it seems that every winter there is a period when everything just gets to be too much.  I keep feeling that I should be able to shake it off, and just get over it.  Feeling better, that’s just a matter of will, isn’t it? Or is it?

WebMD says anyone can get Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD), but it is more common in:

  • People who live in areas where winter days are very short or there are big changes in the amount of daylight in different seasons.
  • Women.
  • People between the ages of 15 and 55.

That profiles four out of the five of us fairly precisely – and may explain why my youngest still seems a little chipper when she’s not being dragged down by the rest of us.

If you have SAD, you may:

  • Feel sad, grumpy, moody, or anxious.
  • Lose interest in your usual activities.
  • Eat more and crave carbohydrates, such as bread and pasta.
  • Gain weight.
  • Sleep more and feel drowsy during the daytime.

Well, that just about describes me exactly.

They say the treatment is exercise and light therapy.  I choose swimming in the ocean under the Jamaican sun for ten days or so.  Think I can get my insurance company to pay for that?

1 Comment

Filed under Day to Day, Family Relationships, Self-realization

One response to “Singing The Blues

  1. about ranking nations:
    those with many dark and cold days?
    those with much sun and water?
    those with a rich society?
    those with music?
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/01/08/ranking-nations/
    take a look at my RANKING NATIONS 🙂

Leave a Reply

