Prickly

I am irritable and ruffled up.  My teeth are clenched and I have a sense of disquiet and unease.  Nobody had better cross me.

There are days where there is no right way, only things that rub me the wrong way.  Sometimes I wake up like that; others, I get nudged down that path through numerous irritations, roadblocks, and encounters with recalcitrant people.  On those days, there is no saving grace except, perhaps, to use my slowly building head of steam toward something that has been difficult or that I have been delaying action on.  It’s a bit of therapy – turn that energy towards something that I don’t want to do but have to.  After all, it’s a “might as well, the day couldn’t get worse” kind of feeling.

Perhaps I have been putting off making a difficult call.  If I am in a mood, however induced, I can do a better “that is not acceptable” call to the school, or cancel subscriptions or services, or any number of things I have been avoiding.  Maybe I have been too lax and allowed the house to get a little out of control.  Major Mama comes out in full force, and things get done. I put my foot down and stand up straight.  Iron materializes in my backbone.

I am not generally an alpha personality.  I don’t push back very often, and I try not to make waves. But sometimes you just have to release the tension that has been winding up on that spring, no matter how long it’s been tight.

Then it’s time to be ruthless and get things done.

2 Comments

Filed under Day to Day, Growth, Reflection, Self Discovery

2 responses to “Prickly

  1. I like the “Major Mama” comment, it made me laugh! But you’re right about using your bad mood positively.

  2. you write: I am not generally an alpha personality. I don’t push back very often, and I try not to make waves. But sometimes you just have to release the tension that has been winding up…
    +
    yes, and then I need wordpress to write down an extract of my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

