Unexpected Pleasures

I had promised, so I went.  I was tired and comfortably ensconced under a quilt on the sofa, half watching a movie; heading out into the cold was not even near the top of my priority list. My youngest daughter’s friend was in a church play and he had asked her to attend, and I had told her earlier in the week that I would take her. At the appointed time I hauled myself out of my cocoon of warmth and ushered her to the car.  I won’t say I did it grudgingly, but if I had given myself the choice I would have happily stayed right where I was.

We arrived a few moments before the play started and found the entrance.  Her friend was handing out programs and seemed delighted and surprised that she would come to his performance.  We tentatively entered the sanctuary and found a place where she could see the action, settling in.  We felt a little out of place, being strangers in a place where everybody knows everybody else, but we received nods and smiles from those around us. Then the music started and all eyes were drawn to the front.

I admit that I had expected to be bored by yet another children’s Christmas pageant, but as the story unfolded, it became a true performance, a real little gem.  It was an Appalachian Christmas story and involved adults and children, songs and story, warmth and humor.  I had gone simply because it mattered to my daughter to be there for her friend.  Instead, I found some special time to remember just for the two of us, and discovered an unexpected pleasure for myself.

2 Comments

Filed under Finding Inspiration, Gratitude, Parenting, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Unexpected Pleasures

  1. amazingblessings

    Oh, Mary. . . I just wanted to tell you how much I appreciated your sweet post! (Deborah sent me a link to your blog, and I’m ever so glad she did.) I don’t believe I got a chance to meet you that night, but I’m so glad you were able to come! Hope maybe to meet you sometime!

    “Goody Grisom”
    AKA: Darlene Gomes ♥

    • Thank you for the evening, Darlene – the performance was just as I said, a real gem. I’m glad Deborah pointed you to the post and that you liked it, but I’m sure it didn’t give you even a fraction of the satisfaction your performance gave me.

      Hope you have a wonderful New Year!

Leave a Reply

